The Little Man Who Wasn’t There

A comment by gooseyanne (The everyday ramblings of Anne and her Goose) sent me on a bit of a wild goose chase to find the poem she quoted, and I’m delighted to share it back in its entirety.  Is this not what friends and google are for – helping us to add to our personal massive piles of random information?  Well, yeah.  So here you go.

Main Street Antigonish, Nova Scotia.

Main Street Antigonish, Nova Scotia. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Antigonish, by Huges Mearns, 1899

(Inspired by reports of a ghost of a man roaming the stairs of a haunted house in Antigonish, Nova Scotia.)

Yesterday, upon the stair,
I met a man who wasn’t there
He wasn’t there again today
I wish, I wish he’d go away…

When I came home last night at three
The man was waiting there for me
But when I looked around the hall
I couldn’t see him there at all!
Go away, go away, don’t you come back any more!
Go away, go away, and please don’t slam the door… (slam!)

Last night I saw upon the stair
A little man who wasn’t there
He wasn’t there again today
Oh, how I wish he’d go away

In 1939 the poem was adapted to a song called “The Little Man Who Wasn’t There” and recorded by the Glenn Miller Orchestra.  It was on the Hit Parade for 11 weeks.

This innocent little poem has appeared in variations in literature, film, comics, television and music for over a hundred years.  Amazing!  Imagine some small thing popping out of your head and becoming the stimulus for further creativity, awakening and motivating future generations!  Well, it’s a nice thought, anyway.  We all have our delusions of grandeur.

Hope you all have a happy Tuesday.  Stay away from those staircases.

7 thoughts on “The Little Man Who Wasn’t There

I LOVE reading your comments. Sometimes I even reply to them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.