Change Happens

There are all kinds of ways to broaden your horizons. Travel, classes and mingling with entirely new people are just a few. Choose one now — or several, if you have the time — and keep expanding.

  • Compatibility: Gemini
  • Mood: Relaxed
  • Lucky Color: Peach
  • Lucky Number: 75
  • Lucky Time of Day: 7am     

Tsk tsk.  Never tell a woman who has had weight issues all her life to “keep expanding.”  I don’t know if I want even my horizons to broaden.  I’m trying to downsize everything in my life in an attempt to make things simple enough for my aging brain to cope with comfortably.  I mingle with entirely new people every day at work.  Even if I’ve seen them before and sold glasses to them they could appear to be entirely new to me when they come back in to pick up their order a week later.  So that part of the equation is a no brainer.  The more you forget, the more new things there are to discover.

Last week W was given notice at his job.  He is being terminated the end of March.  I don’t think he’s ever been “let go” before, so it was kind of a new experience for him.  He’s been retired from his government job for several years, and still gets all his benefits and superannuation and pension and all that stuff, and his current job was simply to keep him from going insane sitting at home all day.  The whole company is falling apart, and people are being given the boot daily, so it didn’t come as too much of a surprise.  He may look for something else, or he may not.  We’re going to rearrange our finances a bit and see what happens.  The last few years he’s spent up to five months at a time at his family’s camp, so this summer will be no different, except that even less people will care about the date on which he decides to finally come back home.  HAHA.  I’m only sort of joking.  He’s happiest when he’s there, and I don’t mind being on my own, so it’s a win/win situation.  I think he’s feeling kind of like he’s been set free.

Once again I had to put in a vacation request before the deadline of January 31st, so on that exact day with five hours to spare (why do things any sooner than absolutely necessary) I asked for March 24th to April 24th.  I had sixteen holiday days to claim.  I work four days a week.  So that makes four weeks of four days each which equals 16 paid days.  What they approved was 3 weeks of holidays, but the exact same dates, paying me five days a week and a personal day and the last week will be time off without pay.  That also equals 16 paid days.  With the same amount of time off.  So what the hell is the difference?  But nobody wanted to listen to my reasoning and have me actually believe that I was getting FOUR weeks of holidays.  Seriously.

I think I’ll go to Ontario at some point and visit my Gemini sister.  My mood will be relaxed.  Even if it happens to be during the time of my (GASP!!) week without pay.  I do not like the colour peach. I always want to tell it to be real yellow or real orange or just give it up altogether.

It will be interesting to see how life changes after March.  Maybe it won’t change at all.  Maybe it will be completely different and I’ll paint my entire house peach.  I’ll just have to keep checking my astrological forecasts for clues, since it hasn’t let me down yet.  If you have no clear expectations it’s hard to be disappointed.

