Don’t It Always Seem To Go….

Strangle knot (ABOK #1239)

Strangle knot (ABOK #1239) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Ever had one of those days where so many little things happen to piss you off royally that you just want to strangle somebody at the end of it?

And then the next day in hind sight you realize that as traumatic days go, on a scale of one to ten, yours barely reached a one?  But thank God it’s over with anyway?

Yesterday in the morning the power was off for three hours.  The land line phone wouldn’t work.  The internet connection was gone.  I couldn’t make my protein smoothie without a functioning blender.  I hadn’t yet put my wet clothes in the dryer.  I couldn’t blow dry my hair.  My car was trapped in the garage behind a door that normally opens magically with the push of a button.

But yay me, I managed to get ready for work anyway, albeit in a thoroughly bad mood.  My I-phone and lap top were fully charged and when connected to eachother gave me internet access.  I was able to google the power outage and discover it was due to some kind of scheduled line maintenance, for our street and surrounding area, from nine to noon.  I called work and let them know I’d be there as soon as I could get to my car.

Everything lit back up around 11:30, so I was only a minute or two late.  But it’s still work, right?  Who in their right mind wants to be there?  The air conditioning doesn’t work properly, it’s too hot, there’s too many of us there with too little to do, the carpet is ugly, our chairs are crap, everything is covered in dust from the on-going renovations, people are stupid and their kids are screaming annoying brats.

Wow.  Even I didn’t want to be around me.

But, whatever, you carry on and try to appear normal and cheerful, until there’s that last straw.  The rude jerk who wanders in in the middle of the doctor’s scheduled appointment time, is two weeks over due for his contact lens appointment, makes no apology for never having booked one, demands to pick up his order, grudgingly agrees to wait to be seen until the doctor is finished, and then proceeds to stand around in the middle of everything talking loudly on his cell phone for 45 minutes, telling his buddy, among other things, that this waiting around thing is total bull shit.

I’m so glad someone else finally saw him for his recheck.  If it had been me he might be dead now.  Or at least seriously maimed.

Anyway, the good thing about bad days is that they eventually end.  I came home and used my microwave and watched a feel good movie with a happy ending and no power outages.  I now have a much better appreciation for electricity.  I am showered and blow dried and full of hot coffee and well blended fruit shake and ready to take on the world.  I even feel a bit remorseful about my murderous feelings for jerk boy, who after all is no doubt some mother’s darling child.

I think I will be a much nicer person today.  (Unless some random act of God or nature suddenly annoys the hell out of me, and then all bets are off.)  In the meantime, I’ll be trying very hard to appreciate all the little things in life that make me happy.  You never know what you’ve got ’til it’s gone.

I LOVE reading your comments. Sometimes I even reply to them.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.