Weathering the Storm

English: Mayan calendar created by a modern cr...

English: Mayan calendar created by a modern craftsman (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve gotten a little distracted from my December 2012 book of days adventure in which I was supposed to be summarizing my daily preparations for the last day on the Mayan Calendar.  Although since there was never any really firm plan, I suppose I can say I haven’t gotten too far off track yet.  If you don’t know where you’re going, it’s pretty much impossible to be lost.

We got a ridiculous amount of snow today, and there’s more on the way.  The roads are crap, there’s ice everywhere, and intersections can be treacherous.  There are minor and major accidents happening all over the place, sometimes despite how careful we all think we’re being.  I wish someone would declare the month of December one big long snow day so we could all stay home until the new year.  Maybe I was a hibernating bear in a past life.

But hey!  What can we do except make the best of it?  Every day is a perfect day for something, and I think today was custom made for singing along with Kay Starr to this Irving Berlin song!  All together now – one, two, three….

The snow is snowing, the wind is blowing,
but I can weather the storm!
What do I care how much it may storm?
I’ve got my love to keep me warm.
I can’t remember a worse December
Just watch those icicles form!
What do I care if icicles form?
I’ve got my love to keep me warm.

Off with my overcoat, off with my glove.
I need no overcoat, I’m burning with love.
My heart’s on fire, the flame grows higher,
so I will weather the storm.
What do I care how much it may storm?
I’ve got my love to keep me warm.

5 thoughts on “Weathering the Storm

  1. The snow in Bulgaria came earlier this year but here nothing stops, the cars slither and slide around the bends, they still overtake in stupid places, the taxis and cars still run . Buses still plod on, and usually arrive near enough on time, trains still chug along, and planes still fly and land.
    In UK one sprinkle of snow and everything comes to a halt..pandemonium sets in! and each year that say that it was because it was unexpected! Wake up UK! this is the real worlld!
    Now where do you live Grandmalin ?

    Like

    • Edmonton, Alberta Canada – and yes, you’d think we’d be so well prepared for this because it happens every year, and also have some of the best ice and snow drivers in the world – and maybe we do – but I think the REALLY smart ones stay off the roads until they’re cleared and sanded.

      Like

  2. I’m not even coping with the WordPress created snow on my screen. How do you manage? Maybe that’s why bears hibernate? You know, I’ve heard that song before but never taken much notice of the lyrics obviously, because I missed:’ Off with my overcoat, off with my glove.
    I need no overcoat, I’m burning with love.’ Really?

    Like

  3. Pingback: Weathering the Storm « Breathing Space | Solar Flare 2012

I LOVE reading your comments. Sometimes I even reply to them.

