Still Waters Run Deep

still water and treeline

still water and treeline (Photo credit: the|G|™)

What a week.  I am out of practice in the ‘mom’ role, that’s for sure, the proof being that one preteen and one small dog seem to have taken over the entire household which now revolves around them. Not that that’s a bad thing.  God knows we could use some shaking up around here once in a while.

There have been daily rides to and from her school, which is all the way across the city.  W took care of that.  Our granddaughter made her own lunches, studied for her own tests, did her own homework, took her own showers, got herself dressed and ready every morning.  All I did really was make breakfast for her and then get myself off to work.  So it’s kind of a giant mystery why I think I’m tired.

I bought one of the little books in Anne Morelands 1001 Ways to series.  The choices are Confidence, Success, Happiness, Tranquility, Wisdom, Patience – all things I could see no reason to want to improve upon in myself (hahaha – see, I’m so tired I can’t even think straight), so I chose Enlightenment.  Because we could all use some of that, right?

There are no magic recipes, but the book is filled with lots of inspiring quotes.  Probably a thousand and one of them.  Still Waters Run Deep has no source credited, but it’s something one of my teachers said to me once in high school when I was zoned out and daydreaming in class.  Thinking deep thoughts.  Or something like that.  Being quiet on the outside but a very interesting and complicated person on the inside. That’s my story of what he meant by it, and I’m sticking to that interpretation.  Because somehow acting brain-dead doesn’t have as nice a ring to it.

Flower Still Water

Flower Still Water (Photo credit: DeusXFlorida (2,006,995 views) – thanks guys!)

The still waters phrase is a good one to describe my granddaughter too.  She’s a very thoughtful girl who doesn’t say a lot unless it’s something of some importance that needs to be said.  She reads, she writes, she looks things up and she figures things out.  She is already giving dating and relationship advice to her grade six friends.  I sincerely hope it’s not coming from personal experience just yet.

And that she’s not in too great a hurry to grow up.  That will happen fast enough all on its own.

 

3 thoughts on “Still Waters Run Deep

  1. What a wonderful opportunity to connect with your granddaughter. And she seems so self-sufficient too.

    I have always said I seek enlightenment and clarity. So we are in the same wavelength here.

    Thanks for dropping by my blog. I hope we can cross paths. I am an empty-nester. My daughter has graduated from college in 2011 and has been living with two college girlfriends in the city. She visits but pretty much has her own life. I’m a ways to go before any grandchildren. She says she has miles and miles to go of travel and adventure in her life before she settles down.

    Like

    • It’s actually quite wonderful to see the people we love being happy and successful and off on their own! I hope someday you get to enjoy grandchildren. But kudos to your daughter for not being in a hurry about that.
      Thanks for your lovely comments – I’m looking forward to reading more of what you have to say. xxoo

      Like

I LOVE reading your comments. Sometimes I even reply to them.

