My Inner Emily

Emily dickinson

Emily dickinson (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The Daily Prompt:  Unleash Your Inner Dickinson.  National Poetry Writing Month is nearly at an end. To celebrate it, try your hand at some verse.

Huh.  I thought I just did that.  And how come I didn’t know it was national poetry writing month?  Do you suppose I wasn’t informed on purpose?

No matter, another poem probably won’t kill us.  Well, me, anyway.  I don’t know about you.  I just hope poor Emily doesn’t roll over in her grave.  Or come back to haunt me.  Because I am about to update one of her poems.

A Day! Help! Help! Another Day!

Emily Dickinson

Emily Dickinson (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

by Emily Dickinson

A Day! Help! Help! Another Day!

Your prayers, oh Passer by!

From such a common ball as this

Might date a Victory!

From marshallings as simple

The flags of nations swang.

Steady—my soul: What issues

Upon thine arrow hang!

A Prompt!  Help! Help! Another Prompt!

by grandmalin

A prompt! OMG, another prompt!

Give me a break you guys.

Such a seemingly simple request

Might cause INSANITY!

You prompt and prompt and never stop

The stress is making me mad.

Hold on, my soul:  No worries

Just write something really bad.

The only thing I like better about Emily’s poem compared to mine is the use of the word “swang”.  That is a truly awesome word.

And this post, my friends, should prove once and for all that poetry writing and appreciation is really not my strong point.

elders

elders (Photo credit: sbpoet)

11 thoughts on “My Inner Emily

  1. Pingback: A Series of Unfortunate Rhymes | Stuphblog

  2. Pingback: Lulu Leroy | The Jittery Goat

  3. Pingback: Against Myself | Lyrical Anarchy

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Unleash Your Inner Dickinson | life n me!

  5. Pingback: BEAUTIFUL LOVE | hastywords

  6. Pingback: Tuesday Results Post #1 | We Drink Because We're Poets

I LOVE reading your comments. Sometimes I even reply to them.

