Making It Better

The Many Sides of Neil Sedaka

The Many Sides of Neil Sedaka (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

From Prompts for the Promptless, Episode 11:  Remake!  To remake is to make anew or in a different form. 

Here is a short list of things that you can remake.  It’s short because this is Friday and nobody wants to read a long list on a Friday.  (Never mind write one, if you want to know the real reason.)

1.  Your bed.  But don’t remake the beds of your children unless you want to risk scarring their little self-confidence psyches for life.  I read that somewhere, but never worried about it myself and remade my kids beds all the time.  Because seriously, what a mess.

2.  Plans.  Even if they are carved in stone.  Just get yourself a new stone.

3.  Lego and Puzzles.  Although if I had my way I would super glue the pieces together and never put myself through that agony again.

4.  Movies.  When there seems to be nothing new under the sun, movie makers start reminiscing about some classic film or other that was immensely popular back in the day and which made a whole shit load of money.  Then they start to believe that with a few changes, they could update, remake and improve upon it.  Plus rake in another whole shit load of cash.  Sometimes they’re right.  Sometimes they are sadly mistaken.

5.  Songs.  There can be as many versions of a song as there are people to sing it and genres of music to set it to.   If we like the original a lot, chances are we won’t be happy with a remake, simply because it doesn’t sound ‘right.’  If we dislike the original, a remake can turn out to be a happy surprise.

In the sixties I loved the original version of Breaking Up is Hard to Do by Neil Sedaka, including every single “down-doobey-do-down-down”.  We were heavily into making up nonsensical gibberish lyrics to go with a beat back then.

Then I grew up a little, and so did Neil I guess.  I love this slower, jazzier version of the song even more.  Remakes can be a beautiful thing.

16 thoughts on “Making It Better

  1. Pingback: Prompts for the Promptless – Ep. 11 – Remake! | rarasaur

  2. “Sometimes they’re right. Sometimes they are sadly mistaken.”
    God, yes! Usually the latter, unless it’s Invasion of the Bodysnatchers or possibly The Thomas Crowne Affair…I’m sure there are may others really 🙂

    Like

  3. LOL. Love how you remade the advice about not remaking your children’s beds. Have had to get a new stone a number of times. Now I carve my plans into sand. {{{Hugs]}} Kozo

    Like

  4. Pingback: Rebirthing | Stuphblog

  5. Pingback: Rarasaur and the Big Red Pen | rarasaur

  6. omaigaaad… when David Cassidy sang that song on “The Partridge Family” when I was a little girl I think I DIED! oh! thank you for sharing this. I’ve always loved that song. and then … THEN when i heard Neil sing it… i must’ve dropped an egg. amazing.

    Like

  7. Pingback: Prompts for the Promptless – Ep. 12 – Silver Linings | rarasaur

I LOVE reading your comments. Sometimes I even reply to them.

