When W is Away I Eat Zucchini

After three months of preparation (no exaggeration) W left this morning for his island in the east.  The river ice was probably a month later than normal breaking up so he had to wait around impatiently for better weather.  I just got a text from him saying he’s in Brandon, so tomorrow he’ll do the last leg of the drive to northern Ontario.

At last we’re getting some lovely sunny warm days here too.  The lawn people have already done most of the spring clean up, except for where the last of our snow mountain was stubbornly refusing to melt.  The last time I mentioned something about green grass we had a snow storm, so I’m not doing that again.

I have lots of plans to keep myself busy in the next several months while I’m on my own.  I would mention them all here, but then I’d be embarrassed when none of them happen.  However, there is one I can tell you about since I’ve done it already.  I bought a bunch of vegetables that W doesn’t like and that I miss cooking for myself.  I don’t understand how someone can not like the taste of zucchini – it doesn’t even have a taste.  Tonight I tried a new recipe with results that even W might have been able to choke down.

What can you do with two zucchini and a sweet potato?

What can you do with two zucchini and a sweet potato?

I even took pictures to prove that I’m not completely useless in the kitchen.  Especially when I’m really hungry.

Slice the zucchini in half lengthwise and place cut side up on a pan.  I’m crazy about my Epicure pan which works great for oven roasted potato wedges.  I’m trying to broaden my horizons by cooking other stuff on it too.  Cut the sweet potato into french fry shapes.  Or not, depending on how clueless you are when it comes to chopping things up.

randomly shpaed sweet potato chunks

randomly shaped sweet potato chunks

I put a tablespoon of oil and some spices on the sweet potato and tossed them around in a red bowl.  I like Club House garlic plus, epicure seasoning for rosemary garlic oven fries, and salt and pepper.  And I love my red bowl.

Brush the zucchini with olive oil, sprinkle with garlic plus, salt and pepper and lots of parmesan cheese.  Cut up tomatoes and layer on top.  Add salt and pepper and/or bruschetta spices.  Seriously, the zucchini is so bland, you can go a little nuts with the spices.

Grate some mozzarella cheese for the last layer.

Practically naked zucchini.

Practically naked zucchini.

Zucchini all dressed.

Zucchini all dressed.

 

 

 

TAH DAH!

TAH DAH!

There it is all oven ready (375 F for 20 – 30 minutes) and here it is out of the oven.  And shortly after that most of it disappeared.

This was really simple to put together, and incredibly good.  Hope you get a chance to try it.  And I hope you enjoyed this random recipe blog.  I promise it won’t be a regular feature, and I can hear your sigh of relief from here.  I’m sure I didn’t teach anyone anything that they couldn’t have googled and figured out on their own, and yes I will admit that it was just a shameless way for me to boast about something turning out well in my kitchen.  That’s a random thing too.

See what you’re missing W??  Turnips tomorrow!  HAHAHA!  Now he’ll probably stay away for an extra month.

23 thoughts on “When W is Away I Eat Zucchini

  1. Those look delish! I absolutely love zucchinis. In fact, we’re having them for lunch today. My version is zucchinis stuffed with rice and minced meat, then allowed to cook in tomato broth. Yum.

    Like

  2. Those look positively yummy! Hey, I have a question. I was just reading your “who, what, why” page to try and figure out where you are from, and I saw it said hometown Port Elgin. Do you still live in Port Elgin? The reason I ask is because I am going there this weekend. An author I just discovered, who is amazing, Susanna Kearsley, is appearing at the Port Elgin Public Library this Saturday and doing a book signing. I love hearing authors speak :).

    Like

    • How exciting! I had no idea Port Elgin had such exciting things going on! haha Still have lots of family in and around Port Elgin, but we have lived in Alberta since the late 1980’s. I go back to visit lots though. Now I have to go look up Susanna Kearsley….hope you have a fun weekend. ♥

      Like

    • I bet you could chop up and saute the zucchini and spices in some oil, add the chopped tomato until it’s heated through, put cheese over the top and a lid on it until the cheese melts…. Might be worth a try. If it’s a disaster, you didn’t get it from me. lol

      Like

I LOVE reading your comments. Sometimes I even reply to them.

