Some Taurean Bull

Taurus as depicted in Urania's Mirror, a set o...

Taurus as depicted in Urania’s Mirror, a set of constellation cards published in London c.1825. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Maybe I’ve been brainwashed into thinking that I am a Taurean through and through because I started reading this stuff decades ago and took it all too seriously.  Perhaps I decided that if it was my fate to be born a Taurus I might as well go ahead and act like one.

How ever it happened, it’s no big surprise to me when I read my astrological forecast and come across something like this:

Someone is pushing hard for you to do something you don’t want to do, but your resistance is legendary.  You will stick to your principles like glue, and refuse to budge an inch.  If you must, you must, but you won’t go down without a fight.

Sigh.  My resistance is legendary.  I laughed when I first read that, and then I thought – hey,  it’s not that funny.  I don’t really want to be the cranky old lady waving her cane in the air, shouting obscenities at the world.

These next random Taurus truths will be interesting to other Taurean people, or to those of you who know and love a Taurus well.  There is a lot to love here of course.  Although I may be biased saying that.  And if you aren’t a Taurus, and you don’t know one, you could still  read on just to see what you’re missing.

1.   Possessions and Material things

Taureans don’t feel emotionally secure unless they can see and touch the objects they own. Possessions and material things are of great significance to them and the intense need to possess and enjoy with the senses can drive them to be extremely productive.  (Yes, I have a lot of stuff.  I keep saying I’m going to de-clutter my house, but it hasn’t happened yet. I have been very productive moving things around though.)

2.  Taurus’ Love for Gardens

Taurean’s home and gardens are important to them. They reflect their love of harmony and beauty.  Many enjoy gardening and find emotional release in ‘turning” the soil..  If not, they’ll make sure someone else keeps-up their yard!  (Big check mark on that last part where I get somebody else to do it.)

3.  The Taurus Star Constellation

The Taurus constellation is a prominent constellation in the northern hemisphere’s winter sky, and one of the oldest dating back to the Early Bronze Age.  Taurus is symbolized by the bull and is mythologized in ancient Greece, Egypt and Babylon.  (The only constellations I’ve ever been able to make out in the night sky are the big and little dippers.  There may be smarter Taurean astronomers out there somewhere.  Well, let’s hope so, anyway.)

4.  Taurean Children

The Taurean child is charming and enjoys rules and regularity.  They usually do well in school, because they like the routine.  Their mind works at a slower pace than other signs, so more time on ‘homework’ is needed,  However, once a concept is grasped, it’s never forgotten.   (Did you notice the part where they said “charming”?)

5.  The Taurean Parent

Set routines are the norm and they feel their children should also practice discipline as a guidance.  All is well if it’s not too strict! Tarueans are concerned about their child’s education and will make sure they have the best possible chance to learn.  (Well there you go – you can give them every chance, but ultimately what they do with it is up to them.)

6.  Taurus’ Healing Gem: Emerald

Emeralds are great for Taureans as they encourage self-expression. They help to articulate thoughts and feelings and have the added benefit of relieving jealous tendencies and attract domestic bliss and loyalty.  (Too bad they’re green.)  (If anyone would like to give me one or two of them, I’ll overlook the color.)  (And what the hell is domestic bliss?)

7.  Taurus’ Healing flower: Narcissus

Narcissus brings Taureans self-love and increases self-confidence by enhancing their inner beauty and radiance. It relieves coughs and colds and is a natural sedative, calming panic attacks and preventing insomnia.  (Really?  This is all news to me. Am I supposed to be eating them?)

8.  The Taurean Anger

It takes a lot to really anger a Taurean, but when in a rage they have a strong desire to throw things and to storm around the house.  They remain angry for a long time.  If you arise a Taurean, let them cool down before talking again.  Don’t push them!  (This is excellent advice.)

9.  Partners in Love and Friendships

They have a talent for giving others a feeling of security. In times of crises, they’re of great comfort with advice which is practical, realistic and to the point.  Their calm approach to crises soothes even the most frayed nerves.  (This is AFTER the temper tantrum.)

10.  The Taurean Work Ethic

Taureans work slower than other signs but always finish whatever projects they start.  They are trustworthy, reliable, careful and steadfast.  If you want a job done and done well, give it to a Taurus!  (Unless it involves de-cluttering, and then they’re hopeless.)

Taurus, the Bull

Taurus, the Bull (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

11.  Planet Venus rules Taurus and Libra

Venus is called the goddess of beauty and love.   With her influence, Taurus works to obtain qualities of harmony, devotion, refinement and affection. Although the tendency towards self-indulgence, laziness and indifference must be avoided.  (Why?  Why do we have to avoid these things?  I like all of them.)

12.   Taurean’s Sensual Lust for Life

Taurus is governed by the goddess of love Venus, her influence gives Taureans an appetite for love, desire, creativity and all things considered “The Good Life”.

This list was shamelessly copied from a site called Likes.com which I found via Facebook.  This particular article said to read the twelve points to see if I (as an expert on being a Taurus by accident of birth) agree that these are indeed Taurean traits. So I did.  And I guess I do.

If I didn’t I’m sure I’d be stomping about stating my objections in some sort of legendary way.

13 thoughts on “Some Taurean Bull

  1. LOL, Grandmalin. No wonder why we get along so well, I’m a bull-headed Taurus as well. Love your parenthetical comments. Felt like you were taking the words right out of my mouth. {{{hugs]}} Kozo

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Basics of Being a Taurus. | Astrology and Spirituality

I LOVE reading your comments. Sometimes I even reply to them.

