Just Say Whatever to That Vision Board

An example of how a cardboard Vision Board cou...

An example of what a cardboard Vision Board could look like (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Prompts for the Promptless Season 2 Episode 2:  Vision Board

A vision board is a collage or collection of images of tangible and intangible things you want in your life. 

Wow.  People who actually make these things for themselves must be super focused and organized and on the ball.  And of course have a really good idea about what they want out of life.

I wouldn’t even know where to start.  My needs are simple, my wants are few.  My head is empty.  Therefore my (imaginary) vision board at the moment is pretty bleak and blank.

I’ve always tried to be very careful about the big and important stuff I wish for because things rarely turn out with the results I expect.  It’s so much easier to just let life happen without trying to control and force and manipulate the crap out of it.  There’s been nothing so far too hard to handle, and a million unexpected moments of joy that I never imagined could happen until they did.

Or maybe I’m simply too old and lazy for such brave visions of the future.  I have a year to go before retirement.  I would like to survive it.  Is there a picture to represent that?

I guess I could put it into words and hang that on my wall – GO TO WORK.  STAY ALIVE.

But then what if tomorrow I get run over by a bus?  Does that make me a failure?  If I had a board covered with pictures of places I’ve never been and people I’ve never met and expensive things I can’t afford and my family had to look at that after I’m gone, it would just make them sad.  Poor lady, never got to do any of the crazy things she imagined she might.  I would not want them to think my life had not been full because of a few small things it lacked.

If I had made a Vision Board for myself when I was 20, it would not have included pictures of me married to an outdoor camping wildlife enthusiast or living in tiny remote settlements in Canada’s Arctic.  But that’s what life handed me, and I happily accepted.  I never imagined myself living in Alberta either, but here I am.

English: Zodiacs navigate between icebergs in ...

English: Zodiacs navigate between icebergs in Arctic (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I never wished to travel, but I’ve gone on some amazing trips.  Next spring I might end up in Greece.  But if I don’t, it doesn’t matter.  I like my life more or less the way it is.  That either makes me content and easy to please, or utterly unambitious and boring.  I suppose I am all those things.

There will be no Vision Boards for me.  I can see how they would work for some people, helping them to keep their goals and aspirations in view, reminding them where they’re going and what’s important, and inspiring them to stay focussed and full of purpose.

Meanwhile, I’m happy to wander around in the dark and deal with whatever I bump into. At least I know it won’t be one of those boards.

And if I find myself on a beach like this one, I’ll try really hard to cope.

English: Goudouras (Crete, Greece): the beach ...

English: Goudouras (Crete, Greece): the beach Nederlands: Goudouras (Kreta, Griekenland): het strand Français : Goudouras (Crète, Grèce): la plage (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

21 thoughts on “Just Say Whatever to That Vision Board

  1. I laughed while reading your post, but I did a workshop for making a vision board (as a favor to a friend) and while I secretly mocked myself, I learned some things. In only cutting out pictures or words that appealed to me, some overriding themes emerged. Not surprisingly, it was all about balance and parenting and healthy living….and books. Lots and lots of books!

    Like

    • Well that just goes to show me I should never put something down until I’ve actually tried it. I imagine books would play a big part in my ‘picture’ too. Along with eating and sleeping. haha Thanks Michelle! ♥♥

      Like

  2. I love your outlook on this! I would never have thought that others would be saddened by what I did not achieve but had wanted to. Bummping into, is a better attitude. 🙂

    Like

  3. I also love your outlook on this. And laughed. Don did too 🙂
    Although Don and I have some ideas and visions for the future, we don’t dwell on them or need pictures to make them happen. The real business of living happens now and if we focus on appreciation of that the future will take care of itself. We, also, would like to stay alive lol
    ❤ ❤

    Like

    • Sometimes the things we think will make us happy are a bit of a let-down once we’ve got them so we go after something else…. no doubt about it, appreciating what we are lucky enough to already have is a much happier way to live. Hope you continue to live happily for a long long time. xxoo

      Like

  4. Pingback: ForThePromptless – S. 2, Ep. 2 – Vision Board | rarasaur

  5. “…a million unexpected moments of joy that I never imagined could happen until they did.” Great line and so true. I agree about the board – sounds too much like a bucket list to me and people tend to put pretty silly things on those, I think. I’m more concerned with being happy here and now.

    Like

  6. LOL,. Grandmalin, especially the part about not bumping into one of these boards in the dark. Your ability to have an “empty” mind is admirable. Suzuki Sensei says, “If your mind is empty, it is always ready for anything; it is open to everything. In the beginner’s mind there are many possibilities; in the expert’s mind there are few.” Here’s to the enlightened zen master Grandmalin-san. {{{hugs]}} Kozo

    Like

  7. Pingback: Hospitals Are Not Sexy | AP Roberts' Stories

  8. Pingback: Vision Boards? | Stuphblog

  9. Pingback: ForThePromptless – S. 2, Ep. 3 – Running Gag | rarasaur

  10. Pingback: Success – My Biggest Fear | rarasaur

I LOVE reading your comments. Sometimes I even reply to them.

