Mega Lopho What?

image

Holy cow, I have been so incredibly busy with so much to do I just can’t tell you because I don’t even know where to start….

(So did that sound convincing?)

Maybe you’d prefer the truth.  I have done pretty much nothing for the last couple of days.

Except, my new printer arrived and is as hooked up as a smart wireless printer needs to be.  I have no idea how I survived for so many years with my monstrous old one which in comparison was not very smart at all. But it was a good scanner and it printed excellent photos.  I liked it just fine until the day it decided it could no longer recognize a new ink cartridge and refused to carry on no matter how hard I kicked it.  I’m kidding, I don’t kick inanimate objects.

On Saturday our brand new much-anticipated great-niece arrived! I saw her picture on Facebook before I got the message on my phone! She is in Ontario so I don’t know when we will get to meet her in person.  Why this wonderful news made it impossible for me to accomplish anything is a complete mystery, but I’m using her birth as an excuse anyway.

Then today my daughter cleaned my house and W took granddaughter K shopping for a new winter coat.  One of these years she will stop letting her arms and legs grow ever longer.  And yes, I know I could probably get off my ass and clean my own house now that I’m no longer working,  but I pay her well so I think she’s happy to have me as one of her clients,  plus we sometimes feed her.  I absolutely love how everything looks when she’s done.  And I like to talk to her constantly while she’s here (talk about a captive audience) so once again – no drawings or painting or writing.  I did cook supper though.   I’m not completely useless.

All of the above, including the picture which illustrates some of W’s Christmas decorating skills, has very little to do with the incredible word I discovered and would like to share with you.

megalophonous

Having a loud voice; vociferous; clamorous.

Of grand or imposing sound.

The word ‘megalophonous’ comes from Greek roots meaning ‘big’ and ‘sound’.

The reason I like this word so much is because it so perfectly describes the one and only W.  He isn’t always loud, but when he is,  it’s definitely mega.  He uses his megalophonous talents when greeting people in public places, talking to a group of people, or to just one person in a room full of people so that all other conversations are effectively drowned out, AND when he is talking on the phone.  This is the one that drives me crazy.  He has a friend he talks to who also has a super loud telephone voice.  When the two of them get on the phone I can hear their entire conversation from the other end of the house.

He will tell you that he does this because he is used to talking to his hearing impaired dad, but his dad wasn’t always deaf, whereas W has always been loud.  Perhaps he is partly to blame for his dad’s hearing loss.

My head hurts and my ears pound and ring when people are too loud.  I don’t like music turned up or concerts or crowds of people making a big racket.  Sometimes I think my own hearing loss is a form of self-defence.

So yeah.  That’s all I wanted to say about that.  Because if I say any more and W reads it I’ll be in for a loud lecture on all his virtues.  The entire time I’ve been writing this, W has been sitting across the room as quiet as a mouse.

Okay I take that back because he just made a long and loud speech about the pros and cons of dishwasher liquid versus powder detergents and how he prefers laundry detergent in liquid form.  I agree with everything he said, so there was no reason to shout.

Gawd, we will end up as two little old half deaf shouting people having random conversations about nothing.  Unless that’s happened already.  If so, I really don’t want to hear about it.

11 thoughts on “Mega Lopho What?

  1. You make me laugh. I don’t usually laugh. I mean, laugh out-loud when I’m all alone..by myself all alone…the two cats don’t count. They no longer answer me when I ask “Do these pants make me look fat?”….not that they answered me in the first place but I do believe they laughed. Together they laughed…not alone. Like me. Did I mention you make me laugh…..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Finally dropping by to say hello and thank you for the reading and “likes” on my blog. Jots is right… very funny stuff indeed. And is Christmas scene in post at your house? It is lovely! Look forward to many more posts to come!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think you have rediscovered your inner child with a vengeance since you retired. And it’s wonderful! Your posts have such a lightness to them like you’re smiling all the time at everything around. And it’s making me smile every time I read them. This one is no exception. It paints such a lovely picture of your frame of mind and life. I think I might be a teeny bit jealous that I’ve not retired yet! But you’re making me look forward to it. Thank you for so much positivity and delight in your world, spreading it out and beyond.x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, my inner child is alive and well and often bratty. But cute! That’s the important thing. I love reading your amazing poetry. You have an incredible gift with words and imagery. I would try to comment but I’m often left speechless. ❤️

      Like

I LOVE reading your comments. Sometimes I even reply to them.

