Art du Jour 68

image
This is what happens when you take a photo in low light at the end of the day and your pencils cast shadows on the white page. As if you would ever wonder about that. Just saying, now you don’t have to.

This morning I went grocery shopping. On my return, I immediately made myself a very creamy cup of coffee with my stockpile of coffee cream.  Running out of cream was more brutal than anticipated.  This is how you learn how addicted you are to something.  Shopping before coffee sure speeds up the process but doesn’t necessarily make it pleasant.

The day turned out to be very hot and I turned out to be very lethargic. But it finally cooled off enough for me to draw something once the light was more or less useless for art.

Considering how little time I spent on this, I’m very happy with it.  My mind might change with the daylight.

This is the start of Canada Day long weekend!   Flags are flying.  Hope you have a good one.

13 thoughts on “Art du Jour 68

  1. I love this she has the look of a 1940s woman. You are so talented and I am always enchanted by your art!
    Have a great Canada Day weekend. It is armed forces day here in the UK plus most of central London’s roads will be closed for the yearly Gay Pride Parade/ March. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I had a “Sound of Music” moment when I saw the braids and almost started singing 😉 We are unbelievably hot here as well, over 90 today and I have my garage/yard sale to contend with, but had to get it done as next weekend is our Independence Day. Enjoy your coffee…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The Salt Lake, Husband! Quick–Get Wife Number 1! I’ll start scrubbing the cattle and pause behind a cactus to drop this ninth baby.”
    (Please don’t hate me. She just looks so happy, and of that period.)

    Liked by 1 person

      • Gaw! I bet the farm families for miles around talked behind their hands about your family’s dirty cattle. They probably tracked hoofprints all over your fields. (The cows–not the other families. I’m sure THEY wilped their feet.)

        Like

  4. Happy Canada Day belatedly. I hope you know how talented you are! I really like this drawing and am wishing I could do such lovely portraits. People are hard to draw, with the warmth and personality you depicted so well. I could see this on a cover of a book. . . 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I LOVE reading your comments. Sometimes I even reply to them.

