Art du Jour 71

image
Can you make something beautiful out of useless advertising? Yes you can. Depending on your definitions of “useless” and “beautiful”.

Many trees died so that I could create something weird and interesting for you to look at. Even though we have put a vacation stop on our newspaper, those flyers just keep on coming. I’ve always thought it would be a great idea to put a blue box at the front door with a sign on it requesting that all junk mail be deposited in it. This would save me a lot of time and angst and energy. And all those colourful glossy Christmas ads could be used to wrap presents.

Although I have never done either of those things, now I can say I have recycled some of that great mountain of advertising into my art.

Will I be doing this with actual garbage next? ย Well, probably not. ย I did discover that grocery flyers are made of extremely cheap paper and ink not meant to last. ย I guess that’s a good thing.

Considering my materials, I am very pleased with this end result and might even hang it up somewhere.

13 thoughts on “Art du Jour 71

I LOVE reading your comments. Sometimes I even reply to them.

