Art du Jour 74

image
I watched a YouTube video yesterday and it inspired me to create this. The artist used acrylic paints, brushing various colours on to the canvas, letting some dry, and spraying others while still wet with water. She then used a paper towel to blot some of the water and colour up, letting the base colour show through and dabbing the excess on to other colours here and there on the canvas.

Well. Doesn’t that sound easy? I think my paper towel must be better quality than hers, because it lifted everything up and refused to let it go. So I was barely started and already breaking the rules. This is why I don’t take art classes and prefer to just wing it and see what happens. A couple of sea sponges worked way better than the paper.

image

I took a picture of the background I was finally happy with, just in case it all went downhill from there. Although I don’t know what difference that was supposed to make. It was really bright so I toned it down and blended it all with some watered down gesso.

Then obviously as you can see I don’t know which way is up, and flipped the canvas so the flowers would fit. I sketched them in pencil, went over them with gesso, painted them with acrylics and did some shading with gelatos. The lady I watched did a lot of ink outlines everywhere but I tried to keep the ink to a minimum. I added some texture and stamps instead. Β Because that’s what I do.

Finally, as instructed (what? really??) I added white splatter, let it dry, and then added some black. This is supposed to keep the splattered dots from mixing and turning grey. And it worked. Whaddaya know.

I really admire the artists who make these videos because of their ability to stay serious and not swear. Someone should do a tutorial on that. Sorry, it won’t be me.

And that’s how I spent my Wednesday. Β How was yours? Β If you were serious and didn’t swear, never mind.

26 thoughts on “Art du Jour 74

  1. I like reading your posts almost as much as studying your artist and creative pieces. The part about swearing snd the paper towel pulling lot of the color up reminds me of all my “oops!” Sometimes you can “fix” mistakes with the layered projects or the whole thing can turn out like mud or “shit.” πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thank you for making me laugh! I loved your thoughts about the artists who make the videos and don’t swear! I’d be doing a lot of video deleting because I know a few “bad” words would slip out. LOL! Your painting is beautiful! Love how you added your own touches to make it YOU! 😊😊😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • There’s definitely an art to making those videos, and knowing when to speed them up so nobody falls asleep waiting for the paint to dry. πŸ˜„ I’m happy as long as I learn something, even if it’s that I can’t do it. lol

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I think you have a great idea for a daily prompt – “why I swore today.”
    So here’s why I swore today. I was trying to turn some outdoor upholstery samples and an old curtain into a quilted cloth, for a picnic blanket, and I got everything lined up crooked without noticing, so it was all puckered when I sewed it.
    It is salvageable but it was definitely a swear-word-worthy event. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL! “Why I swore today” could be the name of my blog! I know how frustrating it is when things go wrong. But it’s just another challenge, right? Salvage it, toss it, do it better the next time. πŸ˜„

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You did a lovely job! I am working up to the videos with my artwork, however- I am notorious for swearing, and for a lot of laughter so I am a little concerned about the outcome. Also- I LOVE using sea sponges with paints, they are so versatile. Paper towels, haven’t really stood up to my demands in the past. I always love to see your work, and this one is wonderful πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Mary Michelle! I really do love watching the videos and always learn something new, no matter how professionally done. Laughter and a bit of profanity would just make it all the more realistic and fun. Good for you, I hope you give it a try!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I loved your painting, it looked fun and chirpy. not Tweet tweet, but cheery. anyway, it looks great! I’m not a super fan of the ‘art videos.’ I either want to go to sleep, or slap them silly. I’d never do one, for the same 2 reasons. The ones that are great, make it look so simple a goat could do it. So when you can not do it, you feel quite lame.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lovely, but thanks to you, I just pictured Bob Ross swearing. A soft, happy little swear word. πŸ˜‰ Haven’t seen you posting in a while — it is concerning…

    Like

I LOVE reading your comments. Sometimes I even reply to them.

