Art du Jour 77

image
For something that started out looking very much like a baby quilt, this turned out okay in the end.
First there was the design and drawing. Look at me being all precise and disciplined and using a ruler.
image
All those little squares were boring so I changed a few of them, added random colours from my box of acrylic tubes, realized my sail boat is impressionistic rather than realistic, and then sat back and looked at this for a long time.
image
Then it was cut and paste time, with this result.
image
This morning I finally finished it, adding layers and some shading and bits of chaos here and there lest anyone think this might be meant to depict smooth sailing.  It was much too clean and organized.  There will be none of that in this house.
It’s a lovely sunny warm Monday here. It’s also my daughter’s birthday which means another July is winding down. Hope your day is beautiful.

20 thoughts on “Art du Jour 77

  1. It would make a wonderful baby quilt. Aren’t there ways to photo graph and imprint on materials? Any babies in the near future of your family? You have inspired me. I may have to get my paints out and let the writing wait a while. Pictures are popping into my head as I type. Fun!

    Like

I LOVE reading your comments. Sometimes I even reply to them.

