Sharing My World 33

image

SHARE YOUR WORLD – 2015 WEEK #33

What are some words that just make you smile?

Hi grandma!  (Those never fail to put a smile on my face.)  However, there are more, but they’re less popular;  skullduggery, skedaddle, brouhaha, mollycoddle, doozy, lollygag, shenanigans, bumbershoot, malarkey, kerfuffle, gonzo, humdinger, fuddy-duddy and gobbledygook.  I also like namby-pamby, but I’m not sure how to use it in everyday conversation.

You’re given $500,000 dollars tax free (any currency), what do you spend it on?

I have everything I need and more.  So I would like to get rid of something.  My debt.  And the debt of my children.  The reason we are all in debt is because we want for nothing.  Except for the cash to pay off everything we owe.  Half a million dollars would be very helpful.  I thought once we had our vehicles and mortgages and credit cards all paid up we would be debt free, but our line of credit does not want to go quietly into the night.  There’s always something.

What subject would you like to study in depth, if given the time to do so?

Zen.  Although I expect it would just give me a headache.  I have a little book of Zen sayings.  In the introduction Zen is described as “spiritual, uncluttered, calm, mystical, enigmatic – all at the same time.  It might be easier to describe the sound of one hand clapping.”  Many of the parables, haiku and quotes are simply beautiful.  And many confuse the living hell out of me.  Which is probably not a very Zen thing to admit.

Would your rather be stuck in a small plane with bad turbulence for 2 hours or be a passenger in a car racing the Daytona 500?

Seriously, if those are my two choices, just shoot me now.  Small planes bouncing around in high winds have a way of reminding you how fragile life really is.  And racing around in circles at ridiculous speeds is just dumb. That being said, I will admit I admire the people who are good at it.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I am grateful for getting to see my grandchildren, at home and away in the last 2 – 3 weeks.  They are all growing older and growing up.  Although their parents may think it’s a slow process, I know better.  I am grateful for a new (some might say time-wasting) game that my son and two grandsons play and now I’m hooked on it too.  Thanks guys.  Of the four games I play religiously, at least one of the old ones must go.  Perhaps two.  My sanity is at risk.  And don’t tell me it’s too late.

The break from blogging has been good, although it wasn’t planned and just happened, and then kept on happening for much longer than any normal kind of break should.  I am a creature of habit, both good and bad.  If the road to hell is paved with good intentions, I must be almost there. And feeling like I have nothing but time to do whatever I want is almost as dumb as car racing.

Well all that didn’t sound very grateful.  No worries, I am getting back on a schedule.  Home delivery has ended here and I am walking to the new post boxes daily to get the mail.  Two days now, and no mail yet, but the walks are good.  I will get back to doing my art because now I have a mission!  I have a purpose!  Someone actually asked me for something!

Enough of the gobbledygook and lollygagging, it’s time to skedaddle and make some sense of the kerfuffle in the art room and create a doozy of a humdinger!  Or I could maybe take a break and play my games…..

share-your-world2

 

 

32 thoughts on “Sharing My World 33

  1. I really like your bouquet which looks like a piece of art! I also smile at your lighthouse and beach border. My parents retired in a sweet, small two bedroom Lake Erie cottage. Mom chose nautical details and a strip along the top of her oak kitchen cabinets displaying lighthouses.
    I just had a week watching grandkids while I had new grandbaby. I wrote a sort of poem called, “the arrival.” Fun and good moments. 🙂
    Ok, I like your questions and your answers, too.
    I love wordplays! I like unique words and yours were “doozies!” 🙂 My post tomorrow is on “drifts” or “drifting” interpretations. My brother is hooked on word blast and scrabble blast. My coworkers like Farm Hero Saga and Candy Crush. 🙂
    Bloghing takes so much time that I draw and read less. . . Blessings sent to you.

    Like

    • The flower arrangement was a retirement gift from work where they knew real live flowers would not survive long in my care. 😄
      Yes, Candy Crush is one of my addictions. I am embarrassed to say what level I’m at. Also love my word games.
      Congrats on your brand new grandchild! There’s nothing better. xx

      Like

  2. Aw, the words I miss most are my grandma’s voice saying, “Hello Jill!” Time with your grandchildren is always well spent in my opinion. My grandma had a kind heart like you. Grandmas are precious gifts that as children we don’t often understand or appreciate until later in life. 💜
    And I think I created a gobbledygook imaginary animal – perhaps a bird? Enjoyed your post and great to “see” you again. 😊

    Like

    • Thanks Jill! I had forgotten how good it feels to be “seen”. Sorry to say I didn’t spend much time with my grandma even though she lived with us when we were growing up. Guess I just thought she’d always be around. She lived to the age of ninety nine, so I wasn’t too far wrong. 😄

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I avoid motorized vehicles when I can. I was in a small plane in turbulence over the Appalachian mountains, in the 80s when planes were being hijacked. The name of the carrier…Ransom Airlines. The pilot was separated from the passengers by a curtain. We could hear his frantic discussion with the tower. Meanwhile he came on the speaker and told us to remain calm, everything was OK. They are out of business now. The most beautiful words….you can unfasten your seatbelts now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Why am I not surprised that something called Ransom Airlines is out of business?? What an experience. I’m constantly amazed at how fragile we are and yet how we keep doing dangerous life threatening things. I think I am okay with “boring” because I really like “safe”. I will probably die falling out of bed. lol

      Like

  4. Well, I certainly enjoyed all this malarky. I first thought that it was just a doozy of your shenanigans. Of course I didn’t expect you to mollycoddle us and I certainly managed to get a whole bunch of brouhahas out of it, but boy… it ‘was’… kind of a humdinger. I guess I should skedaddle and quit lollygaggin on your wonderful site and get back to my gobbledygook to post on my own site… before my readers think that I’m namby-pamby and someone starts a kerfuffle… Loved it… Thank you…
    Michael (the fuddy-duddy)

    Liked by 1 person

I LOVE reading your comments. Sometimes I even reply to them.

