Picture Stories

Yesterday I took a photo album down from one of my library shelves and flipped through it looking for a picture to scan to my iPad.  (I have recently learned how to do this….so now there may follow a series of these scans complete with my observations and thoughts and general rambling comments.)  Don’t say you weren’t warned.

We have a couple of albums containing photos from my and W’s childhoods, and then the books are for the most part neatly organized chronologically from before we were married up until we had grandchildren growing up.  By that time most pictures were being uploaded from cameras and saved to hard drives and I imagine some photo album manufacturers have gone out of business between then and now.  So these albums will soon be museum worthy. Unless museums cease to exist.  Or the house burns down.

The album I randomly selected is one of the last ones I put together I think.  It is such a hodgepodge of photos it made me think of my mother.  She stuck pictures in books to keep them nice, but in no discernible order whatsoever.  (We did ask her why, and she said it was so that whoever wanted one after she was gone would get a bit of everything in one book.)  This one I put together isn’t that diverse, but it is pretty mixed up.  I guess I am becoming my mother in more ways than I know.

image
That’s not a bad thing of course. Here she is in 1936, 19 years old, wearing a pretty dress and sensible shoes.  She was in Teachers College in Stratford, Ontario.  I wonder if this was a professional photo, because it looks like the colours were touched up, or even added later.  That’s a tropical rain forest kind of green.  She was doing something with her life, having adventures, and in no hurry to settle down.  It would be six years before she married my dad, (he was off having his own adventures in the Wild West) and ten years before my older brother was born.  She had her whole life ahead of her.  I think she would tell you now it was a good one.

William Lyon MacKenzie King was Prime Minister of Canada in 1936.  School children would have been singing “God Save the King” because that year there were three of them – George V, Edward VIII and George VI.  The start of the Second World War was just three years away.

It would be fun to pop back in time and let her know that this photo moment would be preserved for the next 90 years and end up on a picture album page shared with a few of her great-grandchildren.  But looking that far into the future might have felt like tempting fate.  And she would have pooh-poohed the whole idea and thought her dress was just this old thing and her hair was a sight and it would be ridiculous to keep anything for that long and that nothing about the picture was really worth saving at all…..

But here it is.  And I’m ridiculously happy to have it.

32 thoughts on “Picture Stories

  1. I love your observations on the photo. It’s interesting that you thought it might have been touched up because the green was so vivid. I wouldn’t have thought of that. Also putting a moment into perspective like that makes one think about the moment they are in, reflecting on that past moment. Anyhow, it’s a lovely photo, and your mum looks so happy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • She does look happy, doesn’t she? Part of that might have had to do with getting away from my grandmother for awhile and off on her own…lol She was a generally happy and optimistic person all her life. I have lots of great memories of her.

      Liked by 3 people

  2. Don’t you love how technology is giving us all kinds of new material to write about. To be able to share those photos the way we do, what would she think to know that photo not only wasn’t all that, but that people all over blog land would see it and disagree with her. It really is all that, and it’s so great that you shared it with us. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ….such things are so personal and so memorable, and it made me recall how my mother (who lived in Alberta) told me that in the ’30s her hobby was hand-colouring photos (which were all in b&w in her day)–and that tinting photos was very popular. I found this quote in wikipedia: “The so-called golden age of hand-coloured photography in the western hemisphere occurred between 1900 and 1940.” https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hand-colouring_of_photographs#Post-1900

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I Love the photo! I love your post. It wonderful to reflect on the lives of those who went before us, trying to make our lives better. In today’s ‘gotta go!’ and the almighty “Busy, Busy”… we lose sight of the significance – that these individuals contributed.
    I for one, say “show us more Lin!!”

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you for sharing this…. Memories have their own charm…
    It is so nice to see someone preserve something so old.. A lesson for ppl like me… Your post has made me learn to cherish memories however they might be.
    Happy weekend 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I really enjoyed your post and the memories you shared about your mother. Before my mom passed away, she went through her childhood album with me. She said no one would want it but it is one of my prized possessions. 💖💕

    Liked by 2 people

  7. A very nice momeno and reminiscence and you are fortunate to have it. I have a similar old photo of my mom from around the same time, taken by one of her brothers. They didn’t sing God save the King, but being Dutch (immigrants) they had a Queen and hated Hitler. Her brothers left to fight very soon afterwards. Tough times.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Great photo & story. Yes, you’re lucky to have it. I fear with everything digital there aren’t albums anymore. I know I haven’t made any for years. There was something about having an envelope of photos that made me do albums. Now I have them on the computer and hardly look at them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Same here. My printer does a nice job of printing photos but uses a crazy amount of ink so I rarely bother. Now that people take thousands of pictures I guess albums would cause a storage problem. Anyway, glad I’ve got the ones I have.

      Like

  9. Your Mom looks amazing and so happy. This was 80 years ago, right? Or maybe I am misunderstanding your comment about keeping a photo for many years. . . Not a big deal but would not wish to make her older than she would have been. My Mom married after college and had started teaching, at 26. She went to school at University of Cincinnati but dated extensively before falling for my Dad. I wished I had listened to her or my Dad who was so liberal! He said to me before we got engaged, “This is the 70’s so why not keep your options open or st least skip marrying and live with the guy?” Might have saved me a divorce but no going back in time. Smiles, Robin
    wished I had waited longer than falling in lobe at 18 with another college freshman and marrying same man at 22.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes it was 1936, eighty years ago. When I have kept the photo for another 10 years it will be ninety. I barely passed math in grade 12. lol
      Very forward thinking for your dad in the 70’s. I think there would be a lot fewer marriages if people had to live together first for a trial period. You do not know someone until you’ve lived together. And even then they can surprise you.

      Like

  10. Your mom looks pretty, confident, and happy. The later marriage must have been happy too, as you say, since they waited four years to have children.

    I agree there is a special feeling in having the physical photos versus digital. I am still waiting for either form from my sister Macy and my male parent, since my mother’s death. I asked for a copy of her photo as a little girl, which she kept on her dresser. Doubt that will ever happen.
    😡
    At least I do have copies of photos of her as an adult.
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Yes, photos are our treasures. This Christmas I started working on gathering photos out of our giant collection of yearly family albums to put together an album of Christmas times….(Sadly we’re.missing some years since our downsizing.) But I made one copy to see if my children want CD’s of them and they all do. That pleased me greatly.

    Liked by 1 person

I LOVE reading your comments. Sometimes I even reply to them.

