BPPV and Me

image

Why is snotbag not an acceptable word?  Why?  WHY??? lol

Oh well, there was really no place to put it anyway.  And the word and the game have nothing to do with the subject of this post, but this screenshot has been sitting in my photos for a long time with nowhere to go and I must have thought at some point it was funny and worth sharing.

For the past several days I have been experiencing vertigo and dizziness and intermittent balance issues.  I have had this before.  It’s easy to recognize and a bit of a snotbaggish pain to deal with.

From the Mayo Clinic site by the Mayo Clinic Staff:

Benign paroxysmal positional vertigo (BPPV) is one of the most common causes of vertigo — the sudden sensation that you’re spinning or that the inside of your head is spinning.

Benign paroxysmal positional vertigo causes brief episodes of mild to intense dizziness. Benign paroxysmal positional vertigo is usually triggered by specific changes in the position of your head. This might occur when you tip your head up or down, when you lie down, or when you turn over or sit up in bed.

Although benign paroxysmal positional vertigo can be a bothersome problem, it’s rarely serious except when it increases the chance of falls. You can receive effective treatment for benign paroxysmal positional vertigo during a doctor’s office visit.

Man, do they ever like repeating ‘benign paroxysmal positional vertigo’, hey?  You will now probably be able to say it in your sleep or repeat it in random conversations to impress unsuspecting people.

Inside your ear is a tiny organ called the vestibular labyrinth. It includes three loop-shaped structures (semicircular canals) that contain fluid and fine, hair-like sensors that monitor the rotation of your head.

Other structures (otolith organs) in your ear monitor movements of your head — up and down, right and left, back and forth — and your head’s position related to gravity. These otolith organs contain crystals that make you sensitive to gravity.

For a variety of reasons, these crystals can become dislodged. When they become dislodged, they can move into one of the semicircular canals — especially while you’re lying down. This causes the semicircular canal to become sensitive to head position changes it would normally not respond to, which is what makes you feel dizzy.

I have been doing the recommended exercises to move the ear crystals back to the right place and things keep getting better with each repetition. Otherwise I’m okay if I keep my head still and stay upright.  If you’ve never experienced this,  its kind of like being inebriated to the point where the room spins one way and you spin the other and your face is suddenly on the floor and you have no idea how it got there.  Not that I’ve ever done that of course.

So don’t say you never learned anything here on the breathing space blog.  I hope this has been wildly educational.  Especially the snotbag part.

24 thoughts on “BPPV and Me

    • Don’t worry, you would know immediately – it’s a dizzy wooziness like no other.
      I’ve been playing Words With Friends since the game came out I think, so I’d better be coming up with some good words by now! Inspired by the competition, that’s for sure.

      Like

  1. I’ve had this too!! Although I suppose being that excited (!!) isn’t really necessary, but it is nice to have a comrade. Mine came mostly in bed, which brought back extremely clear memories of a few nights of waaayyy too much drinking in my 20’s. You described the spinning perfectly and it sucks.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It is scary. For some reason, I thought my own two-day bout was connected to being perpetually underhydrated (and working my ass off in dire heat at the time). Having tried to keep up with hydration spelled the end of that level of vertigo, so maybe sometimes it’s that, or partially that. I have gotten a few more though minor dizzy moments here in dried-out winterland as well — I guess that’s why I think my own bouts are more dehydration-oriented than inner ear. Well, that, and the wrinkly fingers like we used to get after soaking in the bathtub seem some indication.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You make me laugh. 🙂 It doesn’t sound like fun at all and I’m glad it’s not serious. I kind of want to know what the exercises are in case I ever get BPPV – would have to scroll back up here to spell benign parox…….positional vertigo – no can do easily in kindle mode. I imagine some strange head movements like you do when you’re trying to get water out of your ear because you keep going suddenly deaf and you just know it’s in there. Lots of palm action on the affected ear and strange looks from people if you do it in the staffroom. Or on the bus. Anywhere really. People are so weird about things like that. As if it never happens to them, huh. Snotbags. I’d accept that as a word. People who look at you weirdly. They’re snotbags. Besides, making up words is a skill. Somebody made up benign parox….thingy. And now everyone’s using it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree, STARING snotbags are the absolute worst. lol
      The easiest manoeuvre is to sit on the edge of your bed, turn head to left, lie down on right side with head touching bed, hold for 1 to 3 minutes. Sit up, turn head to right, lie down on left side and repeat procedure. You can also keep head turned in the same direction while going right and left. The thing they do in the doctors office I think has your head hanging over the edge of the examination bed. The annoying part of all this is that the dizziness gets worse when you lie down, but lessens with repetitions. Until you go to bed and toss around and dislodge all the crystals again.
      Well that was all clear as mud.
      Going to a doctor would be wise.😄

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Had to read this again, because…snotbag!!! Made me laugh so much! Glad you took a picture of it, too! .. As for BPPV, I’ve had it for many years. It comes and goes, with once in awhile a bad spell. Mostly just an everyday thing, when I move my head too far up, down, or sideways too fast, and only lasts a few minutes. It is such a weird feeling, and before I had the DX it was scary. They did the maneuvers in the Dr. office a few times, but never said anything about doing it at home. Wish they had. Anyway, I can’t lay on my side, so sleep on my back only for 20+ years…guess I’m used to it. I think it runs in my family, as my grandmother had it, and my daughter does too. Hope your episode cleared up fast, too!

    Liked by 1 person

I LOVE reading your comments. Sometimes I even reply to them.

