Kids In the Hall

Yesterday I finished the hallway.  It’s a little weird how happy I am about that.  Only one picture allowed (new hall rules) so it’s my collage picture of some ancestors at various stages in their lives.
image
Because there is less light here the colour looks more orange and the white really stands out.

imageimage

Ok, I expect that’s about all the time you would like to spend in my hallway admiring walls and doors. And a surprisingly clean floor.  Let’s go around the corner.

image
And turn left.  And then back up and turn right.  You know, so you don’t get lost.  New shelf rules too.  Two or less items per.  I just noticed one has three things.  Oh well.

image image
The colour behind the couch is called “tea dance”.  It’s looking a little more pink here than it does in real life.  And notice how different my “melted marshmallow” looks in bright morning light.

imageI’m not sure what this suspended slab of stone or concrete under the fireplace is called, because don’t mantles go above, not below?  Anyway, it was ugly and I always kept it completely covered in stuff.  It’s a perfect place for candles.  And other assorted junk.  And did I mention ugly?  Well now it’s covered in a grey textured paint which looks and feels like rough stone.  And I no longer feel the need to pile loads of crap on top of it.

imageimageimage
My daughter made me take away those little elephants. She is ruthless.

And finally, my art corner.  Sadly neglected for now but not forever.

image imageBecause there has to be a mess somewhere.

I should have cut the grass today, but it was just too hot.  These days you have to get out there between thunderstorms. And despite all the rain, the heat manages to keep the grass looking half dead, especially in the front where it kind of matters.  Anyway, I had a nap instead.  Painting wears me right out and it sometimes takes days to recover from all my hard work.  Ha!  No, I don’t really believe that either.

I think we might be half way finished!  This is another picture from the kitchen because I forgot to add it last post.

imageIn case you were worried I might have chucked out the stove.

Back at it tomorrow.  Two bedroom ceilings on the agenda.  Or more naps. Hard choices to be made.

18 thoughts on “Kids In the Hall

  1. The wall colors and white trim make every room look so fresh and sparkly. Painting the hearth stone grey looks nice with the brick. In younger years, I painted inside and out so I can appreciate the hard, tiring work to reach this point. Pat on the back for you.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Me too. That was one of those “if you stare at it long enough you will figure out what to do with it” moments. With some help from a lady at Home Depot who kept wanting me to reassure her that we don’t ever have fires in this fireplace. So maybe it melts like lava. 🙁

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My arthritic hands and neck are aching just looking at all that work you’ve done 😉 Many years ago I painted our entire house by myself. I love(d) to paint, but not anymore sadly. It looks great and fresh and inviting.

    Liked by 2 people

I LOVE reading your comments. Sometimes I even reply to them.

