Why This Is Not A Travel Blog

Daily Prompt: There’s No Place Like Home

If you had the opportunity to live a nomadic life, traveling from place to place, would you do it? Do you need a home base? What makes a place “home” to you?

Cover of "Leaving Home"

Cover of Leaving Home

The best nomadic life blog I’ve been fortunate enough to stumble across here in the blogging world is Adventures in Wonderland where Alison and Don chronicle their travels around the world.  I read it faithfully.  I love to see their amazing pictures, and learn things about the places they’ve been and the wonders they’ve seen.   If I had the opportunity to live a life like that, would I do it?

I’m not remotely brave enough to even consider it.  Preparing for a ten day guided tour took me a year and gave me anxiety attacks.  I’m glad I went, but what is up with all the stress involved for me when it comes to travelling?

Here are some true travel facts about me, to prove that I am not descended from nomads.

1.  I will never figure out how to pack a suitcase that doesn’t contain at least a dozen completely useless things that I should have left at home.  I need a separate bag for “just in case” items.  I go away for a weekend and it looks like I’m leaving home for good.

2.  When I was little I suffered from motion sickness.  I threw up in cars, even on short trips.   I can now ride in a back seat or on a bus or even a bumpy plane without a paper sack in front of my face – good news for my travel companions.  But that uneasy childhood feeling of dread before leaving on a trip has never left me.

3.  I am uncomfortable in strange places, strange climates, strange beds.

4.  I don’t like or trust strangers.  Because – they’re strangers.  Ergo, they must be strange.

5.  Foreign languages and accents baffle me. In my ears, even the English language can sometimes sound mysterious as hell.

6.  I don’t like to make decisions.  If we are at some crossroad and you are waiting for me to say which way we should go next, I hope you packed a lunch because we could be sitting here for a very long time.

A contemporary Tibetan nomadic tent near Namts...

A contemporary Tibetan nomadic tent near Namtso lake. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Yes, I need a home base.  The best part of going somewhere for me is always the part where I’m heading home.  Home is where things are ordinary and familiar and mine.  Where I can make a huge mess and the only person who gets annoyed about it is me. Where the water doesn’t do weird things to my hair, and the soap doesn’t irritate my skin.  Where the food is easily identifiable and misplacing my passport is not a major worry.  Where recharging things doesn’t require complicated adapters and a brain.

Now for any of you few select lucky people reading this who are suddenly sceptical about this trip to Greece I’ve said I will make with you next year, don’t worry.  I take instructions really well.  If you say we are having fun, I will believe you and behave accordingly.  Tell me we are going shopping and I will follow you anywhere.  And I love to take pictures.  So I’m probably not the worst travel companion on earth.  I hope you feel reassured.

I know home is not simply one specific place, it’s a feeling of belonging and love and comfort, and I admire the nomadic people who are on an extraordinary adventure, and who can be at home no matter where they are.  They are amazing.  Travel and adventure-wise, they are the opposite of me.

12 thoughts on “Why This Is Not A Travel Blog

  1. Mostly I like to travel, but I have to agree on the water/hair, soap/skin and recharging issues. However, the little inconveniences make coming home seem like a treat too – I’m never sorry when the trip is over!

    Like

  2. I got to go to Greece on very short notice back in 2007, and had a wonderful time. The only bad thing for me was that I didn’t even have time to learn a few simple Greek phrases, and oddly enough, people in shops didn’t just look at me and go “Oh, another hopeless American,” so some of them were a little irate for a moment when I didn’t respond correctly to their greeting! Once they figured out my country of origin they were understanding.
    The food was fresh and fabulous and there was so much to photograph! I hope you enjoy your trip!

    Like

      • The most important thing I learned was to greet each person in a shop, whether I was going to buy something or not. I usually feel like I can’t take someone’s time in a business if I’m not going to pay for it somehow, but over there, even in busy Athens, they expected a greeting regardless. I thought it was a great habit and it was one I took back with me.

        Like

  3. I still get sick from all forms of travel, but the vomiting has subsided for the most part. And I can’t tell accents at all. My partner likes to quiz me when we meet new people. I actually said a French accent sounded Australian to me. How I don’t know.

    Like

    • This trip to Greece, if I make it, will no doubt be the last one over an ocean for me. Going to see family is a different kind of ‘going home’ isn’t it? Yes, those are the best trips, for sure.

      Like

  4. Pingback: There’s no place like home | Nanuschka's Blog

I LOVE reading your comments. Sometimes I even reply to them.

