Arrested Development Running Gags

arrested development season 4

Pilot (Arrested Development)

Pilot (Arrested Development) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Arrested Development (season 1)

Arrested Development (season 1) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A running gag is a literary device (usually a funny reference, or silly joke) that appears repeatedly throughout a work.

The 4th season of Arrested Development was released on Netflix on the 26th of May. I have watched a few of the episodes, and will reserve judgement on this new series until I’ve seen more, but it has received mixed reviews so far.  Everybody who loved this show and was sad when it was cancelled knew the original three seasons would be a hard act to follow.

This weeks Prompts for the Promptless  prompted me (see how well that works? a prompt that prompts?) to pick a running gag from the original series, but there are so many of them it boggles the mind.

Luckily for me, (and for you too, since having someone tell you about something funny is never as good as seeing it for yourself) I found this video on YouTube.  So here’s 18 running gags.  They never got old for me.

None of these characters appears to have changed or matured much during the long pause, but that’s okay.  I’m just happy to see the dysfunctional Bluth family all together again.