Technology I Don’t Feel Like Living Without

English: Mobile phone evolution Русский: Эволю...

English: Mobile phone evolution Русский: Эволюция мобильных телефонов (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

What’s one piece of technology you can’t live without?

Have you ever had to go without it? What happened?

I should just not bother answering this prompt at all, it’s put me in such foul humor.

If I can’t LIVE without something, and I have to go without it, ergo, I DIE.

And it begs such a flippant drama queen kind of answer. OMG, without my cell phone I could not possibly SURVIVE!! Kind of makes you want to grab that little piece of technology and stomp on it to see if there’s any truth to the statement.

We need an adjective between the words ‘can’t’ and ‘live’. Happily, comfortably, sanely. Any of those would do.

And the term technology itself covers so much ground – our lives are chained to so many different kinds with links everywhere, who wants to risk breaking the chain? I think I could give up nuclear weapons technology, but medical technology, not so much. I’m also rather fond of electricity. And my car.

But people lived for a long time without those things, so we know it can be done. We all just love our conveniences and have become so absolutely spoiled by them that they’d now be complete hell to give up.

But would it KILL us? Probably not immediately.

Powered by Plinky

I LOVE reading your comments. Sometimes I even reply to them.

